Skip to content

I guess I thought you had the flavor

March 13, 2013

I think I might come back to both of these prompts at a later time when I can write more fully on them.

Scintilla ’13 Day 1, Prompt 1:

Tell a story about a time you got drunk before you were legally able to do so.

I’d almost forgotten it. That first real hangover of mine. My first year of college. “just nineteen a sucker’s dream” How I’d fallen for a stranger four months before and sat across from him over candlelight and thought he’s perfect, he’s what I want. Not listening to any of his own words of warning. How I ended up crashing his New Year’s at St Mark’s Ale House in shitty boots and terrible blue eye shadow.

How I sat on your lap and caressed your face and ran my fingers through your hair and listened to you talk about your daughter, the one no one knows you have. How I felt like a burden to your friends, so cultured, so moneyed. How I wore the wrong boots. How I was hungover for three days convinced I was dying, that I needed to go to the hospital. How I’d only had toast that day. How I drank three blue martinis and a shot of god knows what. How I ended the night at 5am in a cuchifrito in alphabet city waiting for a ride home from my best friend’s dad.

How your friend took me aside and tried to tell me something, anything to get me to get the message. How I drunkenly berated myself and he looked angry at me for my harsh words.

No, I’d almost forgotten it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2013 10:23 pm

  2. March 14, 2013 7:59 am

    God. You are so good. And this is so heartbreaking and somewhat familiar. Have I told you lately that I love you?

  3. March 14, 2013 11:35 am

    Ah, Shakti, this one was a killer. And oh that song. I have chills.

    You said you might revisit it, and I understand that urge, but there is something so impactful about the way this is so simply and deftly sketched.

Leave a Reply

