Skip to content

of course the game is rigged, but it’s the only game in town

October 10, 2011

I was all set to tell you a story. That’s what I do. I tell stories. I’m a storyteller, a charlatan.

A liar, for lack of a better word. You writer, you liar. I’m coming clean.

Here’s one:

It’s been said (’round these parts, round so many others) that my great-grandfather was the kind of guy who’d build a house with his bare hands and then go into town and offer it up in a game of chess. He’d find someone in town and make a wager, then show them this beautiful house they could have if only they could beat him at chess. He did this so many times. Build a house, get bored, wander into town. And you know what? Nobody ever got that fucking house. He spent years trying to find someone worthy, someone who could beat him, someone who could challenge him.

He didn’t.

I was going to tell you this story and then run my usual spiel of how hard it is, how lonely I am, how I’m just looking for someone to play chess with. How I love hard, how I’m rolling the hard six every day of my life and coming up short. How this feeling of lonliness, of an inadequate populace is validated because it’s in the blood.

But really…the moral is…when you live on an island that’s been stolen, sold, and resold so many times over, when your neighbors (if not you) are so disenfranchised and they’re hustlin’ every fucking day just to make it, when they’re being told they’re children and not competent enough to make their own life decisions….maybe you shouldn’t go around fucking with people and their hope.

Maybe, actually, it’s a dick move. Maybe I’m descended from people too selfish to get their shit together and that’s why I’m from money-that-was, not money-that-is.

And maybe, just maybe, in this hot blooded hunt of mine to find someone to play chess with…I should not be pulling dick moves.

Maybe that’s the real moral of the story.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    October 17, 2011 1:17 am

    but when someone beats you at chess, there will be nothing to lure people into a game of chess …

Leave a Reply

